Julia’s Theme

Midnight
Not a sound from the pavement
Has the moon lost her memory
She is smiling alone
In the lamplight
The withered leaves collect at my feet
And the wind begins to moan
Memory
All alone in the moonlight
I can smile happy your days (I can dream of the old days)
Life was beautiful then
I remember the time I knew what happiness was
Let the memory live again
Every street lamp seems to beat
A fatalistic warning
Someone mutters and the street lamp gutters
And soon it will be morning
Daylight
I must wait for the sunrise
I must think of a new life
And I mustn’t give in
When the dawn comes
Tonight will be a memory too
And a new day will begin

– Barbra Streisand –

I’ve had a great friend in school called Julia. We’ve studied together for probably 8 years. She was much smarter than me, she was beautiful and irradiated good vibrations everywhere. I guess she knew, but I had a big crush on her since I can remember, but I’ve never said anything directly about it.

We were happy as teenagers (which is getting rarer nowadays) and had lots of fun and laughs. She was an extremely funny girl and could make me laugh no matter how tough my situation was at the moment. That’s something only her and Laura have been able to do in my life.

I don’t quite remember but I believe she had to be transferred to another school on high school, so we got separated. I felt the hit pretty hard; my days were gloomy, my sense of humor suddenly faded away and I became more distant and rebel.

With the advent of Facebook it got easier to find people with whom you’ve studied with and, oh God, how I’ve looked for her. Until I’ve found a group made by our classmates. What I’ve read there shocked me and brought me to my knees.

Julia and her sister had died in a car accident.

For you reader, you can’t grasp the suffocating sensation that took over my whole body. I’ve lost control and started sobbed uncontrollably. I’ve lost the second best friend in life to a tragedy. Why? Why them and not me? I’d trade places with Laura and Julia in a second if I could instead of having to live with this feeling of helplessness and misery.

Laura (if you’ve been reading my posts you know who she is by now) was by far the most important person I’ve met, but Julia was something special, she made my teenage years easy and happy no matter what. Just by looking at her my day would lighten up and it was like a new day had begun.

There’s not a single day I don’t think about Laura and I often see myself thinking about Julia and how her life was ripped apart so suddenly and so tragic, while my useless life keeps moving on.

“Memory” is the name of the song in the quotes from this post. It was one of my parents’ favorite song.

I will take it with all due respect and make it, just for today, Julia’s Theme.

Leave a Reply

