Why Does it Hurt so Much?

Wise men say only fools rush in
But I can’t help falling in love with you
Shall I stay
Would it be a sin
If I can’t help falling in love with you

– Elvis Presley –

I’m not entirely sure why we fall in love, what makes the sparks fly, the hearts beat fast, the chemicals in the brain go crazy nor even why one single stare can cause all of this.

Today I’ve awaken with a feeling of sorrow, which I’ve never felt before, an emptiness so deep that I could barely breathe. I tried as hard as I could to understand what was happening to me, and in the end I found out I still love her, even after everything that has happened.

I know we will never get back together again and that tears me apart, but I can’t help falling in love with her. There were too many smiles, too many hugs, too many holding hands, too many kisses and too many good moments. Even the worst moments – as much as I try – cannot erase all of those.

The truth is I suffer in silence because I still love, I still care, I still feel, apart from all the other posts I’ve written before. The feeling is there and it’s strong as hell. It’s like an avalanche.

I kept asking me one question during these past months, just one single question.

Why does it hurt so much?
Because it was real.

Leave a Reply

